Yesterday

Yesterday was March 6th. An ordinary day to you, but a huge turning point in my life. On march 6th, four years ago, I went on a first date.

That would be my last first date.

He was polite, and I had bangs and wore a black dress. He took me to Chinese food and we painted pottery. That last first date set the tone for our entire relationship, in a way. He didn’t know much about me, but he knew I loved to paint. He knew – and he took me to paint pottery. Now, he knows me maybe just a little bit better, and he still takes me to paint pottery. Or gets excited when I find something new to use at the craft store. And supports the Canvas & Cookies and art benefit shows I’ve done {as I write this, he’s sitting next to me at our table, painting his own picture, something me and probably everyone else never expected from this surprising man}.

But not only is he my biggest supporter, but my best friend. Everyone says that, right? And maybe it’s true for them. But I never don’t want to be around him. Ever. There has never been a point in my life, like some women, where I think to myself, “ugh, I wish he’d just go to work or go hang out with his friends.” I mean, I’ve thought to myself, “he needs to hang out with his friends for us to have a healthy relationship.” I’ve even been known to force him to hang out with his dudes because he sometimes goes too long without. But I never want him to leave. More than best friends.

And here we are now, four years after that enchanting, perfect last first date. We haven’t had it easy. No, no. But we recently talked about having it easy, especially early on in life, and how it doesn’t mold you. I never in a million bajillion YEARS thought this is how my life would pan out. When I was 18, if you told me about my life, I wouldn’t believe I would have to go through half of the things that I have. But Jason and I have been refined. We have become not only best friends and lovers, but we have become a team. And a strong one at that. The enemy has definitely tried to attack our marriage because he knows it’s a strong force, but what he didn’t know is that every time that happens, we don’t yell, we don’t get mad at each other, we come side by side.

So, my love, happy anniversary. We have been through so much, but maybe soon, we will get to stand back and breathe. Take a breath in and not have to fight for everything. But even if that doesn’t happen, I will be by your side.

I love you.

Engagement26

5 thoughts on “Yesterday

Leave a Reply

