Modest Squash & Chicken

I found something I have never found before. Maybe I had just never looked hard, but as I was picking out different kinds of squash one day – yellow summer squash, zucchini – I came upon this little oddball called Mexican Gray Squash. It looked pretty normal, just as though it was a hybrid between the two I had already gathered. Partly green, partly yellow, not really gray, but the skin’s strange pattern gave off a fuzzy, dull look; the impression of gray, if you will. Maybe that’s where the name came from.

At any rate, it was becoming a rather cold evening, and I don’t know about you, but I think squash is perfect for cold weather {which is funny, considering it’s called summer squash}. I don’t know why, but I have had this thing for years now, about always thinking about the Oregon Trail {and I always play the game on my phone when I can’t sleep}. Anyway, I could just imagine the pioneers eating dishes like this: unsophisticated, honest and uncomplicated . Maybe we are the ones who are unsophisticated – after all, everything we do has to be done with such detail and ferocity, taking up so much time. How much more time must they have had on their hands than we do to spend doing what they love. That’s pretty sophisticated to me.

I wish to live simply, modestly like that.

Modest Squash and Chicken

Serves 2.

| Modest Squash and Chicken

2 chicken breasts

1 zucchini squash

1 yellow squash

1 Mexican gray squash

1 TBS olive oil

1/2 TSP lemon juice

1/8 TSP salt

1/8 TSP pepper

1/2 TSP dried thyme

1/2 TSP dried rosemary

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees and cut each squash into little 1/4 inch slices. Drizzle about a half a TSP of olive oil in the bottom of a round baking dish or pie dish and rub around the surface with a paper towel until thinly coated. Arrange the squash in a circular pattern around the pie dish, leaving a gap in the middle. Place the chicken breasts there.

In a small bowl, whisk together the remaining olive oil, lemon juice, rosemary and thyme and drizzle over the top of the chicken and squash. Sprinkle the salt and pepper evenly over the whole dish.

Place the dish in the oven and cook for 15-20 minutes. Broil on high for an additional 2-3 minutes to get a slight crunch on the squash.

Serve immediately.

Modest Squash and Chicken1

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Modest Squash & Chicken

  1. I love this! I think most of my meals should have the word modest in front of them…this is just my style. (and I really can’t wait until summer when my garden explodes with squash)

Leave a Reply

