Blueberry Almond “Ice Cream”

I’m not one known for having a big sweet tooth. If you look back at this blog at all, there is only a handful of posts about sweets. But there is that occasion when I feel the craving.

These days, fro-yo is all the rage, but for someone who needs to steer clear of dairy, there aren’t many options for such a treat. I know, I could get sorbet, but the reason I go out for this sort of dessert is because I want to enjoy the creamy texture. Only 2 times have I ever had an encounter with a dairy free fro-yo, but since most of the places revolve their selections, it’s only few and far between that I get to indulge.

I have done this little trick for like 7 years now – pour almond milk over frozen blueberries, and sprinkle with Truvia or Splenda. Because the blueberries are frozen, it automatically freezes the almond milk. I went to do this the other day, and thought to myself, “Self, I should blend this!” So I did. Plus, I added a little bit of almond extract, which if you don’t put that in every single sweet thing that you make, you are truly depriving yourself.

Another great thing about this is that you can make as much or as little as you want. I don’t know about you, but if I get a tub of ice cream {at this point, when I say “ice cream”, assume it’s not real ice cream}, it’s pretty difficult for me to stick to the recommended 1/2 cup serving size. This recipe is well over 1 cup and has just over 109 calories, saving you lots of wiggle room. Plus, blueberries are a power food – low calorie, high antioxidant, anti inflammatory and may help reduce your risk for cancer. Plus, how can you beat something that take 2 minutes to make?

 

| Dairy Free Blueberry Almond “Ice Cream”

{serves 1}

1 C frozen blueberries, unsweetened

3/4 C unsweetened almond milk or other milk substitute

1/4 TSP almond extract

2 packets sugar substitute

Add all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Serve.

blueberry almond4

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Blueberry Almond “Ice Cream”

Leave a Reply

