Crustless Light Garden Quiche

As you may already know, I am an avid fan of the ever versatile egg. Something that you may not know, however, is that I can’t eat dairy. This is fine when I eat my daily fried egg for breakfast, but when I want to venture out and have quiche, it’s quite difficult.

Crustless Quiche5

Occasionally, I will consume cheese if I’m forced. For example, my Dads birthday was on February 9th and my mom made Eggplant Parmesan with a side salad. What was I supposed to do, not eat? This is a rare occasion, but it still happens. Milk, though, I haven’t touched in 7 years, since my vegetarian days.

I have never been a person to think, “Oh, a glass of milk sounds wonderful!” or “I just need a piece of cheese,” like my husband, so not eating dairy has been fairly easy. I rarely even consume milk alternatives, like almond or rice milk. I use it as a compliment or an addition, say in my oatmeal or protein shake, but never just a glass.

I have never tried vegan cheese because quite frankly, it’s a little creepy to me. I have no idea if it’s good or what the consistency is like, but in all my dairy free years, I have yet to try the stuff.

Until today.

 

| Crustless Light Garden Quiche

1 TBS coconut oil

1.5 C chopped turnip greens, roughly chopped

1 C chopped mushrooms, any button kind, roughly chopped

1 Roma tomato, thinly sliced

2 large eggs

1 C egg substitute

1/2 C original unsweetened rice or almond milk

2 C shredded dairy free Mozzarella style “cheese”

1/2 TSP salt

1/4 TSP black pepper

1/8 TSP cayenne pepper

1/8 TSP chipotle chile powder

1 TSP baking powder

On medium heat, melt the coconut oil and saute the turnip greens and mushrooms, until excess liquid evaporates, about 6 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and use non stick spray on a 9.5 inch pie dish.

In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, egg substitute and milk substitute until well mixed. Whisk in the salt, pepper, cayenne, chipotle powder and baking powder until almost no clumps can be seen. Gently fold in the cheese substitute.

Once the sauteed veggies have cooled, also fold them into the egg mixture.

Pour into your pie dish and arrange the tomato slices on top.  Let bake in the oven for about 35 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean from the middle.

Let stand for 10 minutes and serve.

Crustless Quiche6

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Crustless Light Garden Quiche

Leave a Reply

