Lemony Brussels Sprout Quinoa with Baked Salmon

I have been so bored of cooking the same things over and over again. Do you ever get in that rut? I have a few staples that I come to every time I’m tired, not feeling creative, or lacking of time and resources to make something spectacular. Those three meals are chicken fajitas with black beans and brown Spanish rice, oven baked chicken with brussels sprouts and brown rice, and red chicken chili. While all those things are pretty freaking delicious, they become quite monotonous day in and day out. I would love it if I could pepper in lots of meals in between so that those delightful dishes don’t become a Debby-Downer meal. Sometimes, however, that just isn’t realistic.

I’m making a goal that for the next couple of weeks I will dedicate some time everyday to research and create. Whether that be browsing through food magazines, perusing the grocery store aisles for unusual ingredients, or {maybe the best idea} going to my Mom.

I used to tell her I would never not like cooking. She always told me, just you wait until it’s a daily task, becomes mundane and then you’re sucked dry of all creativity. Well, Mother, you were right. {Don’t they say that’s something every daughter eventually comes to terms with? “Mom, you were right.”}

Anyways, I am a little flabbergasted with myself, but I’m gonna be real here for a sec.

I’m sick of vegetables.

There, I said it.

Maybe that’s why I’m in this funk. I feel like this is what mother’s have to do with their children who shudder at the sight of green on their plates – I have been sneaking veggies in my meals. Doesn’t that sound silly? Because I know they’re there. I guess it’s just the gesture of adding a veggie to something not so… veggie.

 

| Lemony Brussels Sprout Quinoa

2 C rinsed and shredded sprouts, stem removed

1/2 C roughly chopped onion of any color

1 TBS coconut oil

1 C frozen peas

1 C Quinoa, rinsed and drained

3 C water

1/4 TSP salt

1/8 TSP Cayenne Pepper

1/4 TSP Lemon Pepper

1 lemon

In a bowl, squeeze half of the lemon over the shredded sprouts and onions, and add the lemon pepper and cayenne. Stir to coat. In a pot on medium heat, melt the coconut oil and saute the vegetable mix for 5-7 minutes, or until tender. Set aside in a bowl.

In the same pot, mix the quinoa, water, salt and squeeze in the juice of the other half of the lemon. Place both lemon halves in the pot, and bring to a boil. Cover, and let simmer for about 15 minutes. When the quinoa is finished cooking, add the veggies and frozen peas {the heat will thaw them} to the pan, letting cook for another few minutes while stirring.

Set Aside

Lemony Brussels Quinoa Salmon

| Baked Salmon

1 LB total salmon fillets

2 TSP spicy brown mustard

3 TBS lemon juice

3 TBS soy sauce

1/8 TSP salt

1/4 TSP lemon pepper

1/8 TSP cayenne pepper

1 TBS coconut oil

Preheat your oven to 375 and in a small bowl melt the coconut oil in your microwave, about 1 minute. When it’s completely melted, mix in the mustard, lemon juice, soy sauce, salt, lemon pepper and cayenne.

Place your fish in a foiled and greased baking dish, pouring the marinade over the top. You may let them marinade for up to a day, but it really isn’t required. Place in your oven for 11-14 minutes.

When your fish look about done, set your oven on broil for 2-3 minutes.

Serve your salmon over the quinoa.

Lemony Brussels Quinoa Salmon1

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Lemony Brussels Sprout Quinoa with Baked Salmon

  1. I tried this, it was delicious! I added the zest of the lemon to the quinoa for extra flavour. Next time though, I’ll have to make more brussels sprouts, half of them got eaten before the quinoa was ready ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

