Marriage Mondays Part 4: Learning to Love

Proverbs 18:22 {ESV} “He who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord.”

This wisdom from Proverbs is something that we as men should take to heart consistently. In my last post, we discussed Ephesians 5:25, where we are instructed as men to love our wives. This command is more than just that instruction, it is a realization that it is not natural for us to love our wives the way that God intends.

For me, this often means falling short in terms of my planning or how I show Savannah on a daily basis that I love her. For example, I know that she loves flowers – I am horrible as getting her flowers. She sweetly reminds me of this every so often and I can see the disappointment in her eyes. It’s something so simple that I could do to bless this good thing that God has blessed me with, and I can’t even accomplish this.

There are long lists of things that we already know will get us in trouble {many of which I constantly do}, like forgetting to buy a card or rushing out the door in the morning without a monstrous hug and kiss. I encourage you men to seek out your wife just like we need to seek out Christ. For me, this means making calendar appointments in my phone for random things, trying to learn something new about her everyday {not hard to do, guys. Just admit we will never understand women}, playing and chasing her around the house… Your wife yearns to be pursued, and that is biblical.

We are all made in His image, and part of God’s character that is in every woman is the want to be pursued, the want for you to seek her out and love her WITHOUT her having to force you or tell you. Real love is in the everyday, especially the days that you don’t like each other. I know for myself, I need to make more of an effort to do what does not come naturally.

When you go the extra mile, you will find that God’s favor on your marriage and your life will continue to shower down on you both.

Leave a Reply

