Pomegranate Brussel Sprouts with Balsamic Reduction

Sorry for the lengthy title, but I wasn’t sure what other scintillating name I could muse. So I’m guessing you probably have a pretty good idea what this post is about.

I’m not really a fruit person, but Husband definitely is, and since I do majority of the grocery shopping, I frequently neglect to grab some. Not on purpose, of course.Β  I hadn’t had pomegranate in probably a few years and the store happened to have gobs of the fruit.

When I hear the word “pomegranate”, the holiday season commonly comes to mind. I’m not really sure why – maybe I just think of a fruit cake. Are pomegranate seeds even in a fruit cake? Anyways, since I was feeling the holiday spirit, I purchased some with the intent of creating something entirely different than what I did.

My family often adds dried cranberries to salads and pastas, and even though they do have some health benefits, they also are pretty loaded with sugar. Much more so than their fresh counterparts. That’s where pomegranates join the party – an entire large fruit {or 1 cup of seeds} has just over 100 calories. Not only do the jeweled seeds provide about 20 percent of your daily vitamin C requirement, which promote a healthy immune system, but the pomegranates large quantity of phytochemicals may also assist in fighting cancerous cells.

The tender, humble leaves of brussel sprouts are decorated in the fanciest of dressings, and shiny, red gems are sprinkled throughout for a little extra sparkle.

| Brussel Sprouts with Pomegranate and Balsamic Reduction

Balsamic Reduction

1 C balsamic vinegar

In a small sauce pan on medium heat, bring balsamic vinegar to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer, and let stand until the vinegar reduces to 1/4 to 1/2 cup, stirring occasionally. Pour reduction into a bowl, and set aside to cool.

Pomegranate Brussel Sprouts

1 TBS olive oil

1/8 TSP each of S&P

3 C brussel sprouts, halved

1/2 C red onions, minced

1/2 C pomegranate seeds

Toss the brussel sprouts with olive oil and S&P in a large bowl to coat, and set aside. With nonstick spray, carmelize the onions on medium heat, until translucent, and set aside in small bowl. In the same pan, on the same heat, stir in the sprouts. Cover and stir occasionally. After about 7 minutes {or until slightly golden, but still bright green}, add the onions back into the skillet, cooking for an additional 2-3 minutes.

Remove from heat and stir in pomegranate seeds, transferring to a serving bowl. Drizzle the reduction over the top of the entire dish.

Brussel Sprouts with Pom Seeds and Balsamic Reduction 3

Enjoy!

Brussel Sprouts with Pom Seeds and Balsamic Reduction 2

4 thoughts on “Pomegranate Brussel Sprouts with Balsamic Reduction

  1. Thanks for posting. I’ve a always wanted to try something like this but was looking for a good recipe since I have nightmares about the Brussel sprouts if my youth. πŸ™‚ will try soon!

    • Haha, I don’t know why but I’ve always loved brussel sprouts, but my mom always made them buttered. They are actually really good with the little bit of sweetness – glad I could help πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

