Worthy Wednesdays Part 7: Compare

Don’t do it. Simple.

A wise man once said, “Comparison is the thief of joy.”

I’m just going to be real here, okay? I love my husband and even though we definitely haven’t had the easiest of situations in our short time together, I wouldn’t change any part of our marriage or life together.

That being said, it is one of the most {if not the most} difficult challenges that God has asked to walk through – to marry a man who has been married.

As a woman, it is my human nature to constantly compare… compare the things I do, the way I act, how I look – to a woman that he once loved and has even had children with. The good, the bad – it all filters through my mind like sand through an hour glass. How is she better? How am I better? How can I try to be better than her?

But if I put all of that wasted energy into GOD and seeing what HE has for my life, and the people I love, how much better would my quality of life be? How amazing it would be to not torment myself with such vapid and, quite honestly, laughable thoughts!

So, I won’t do it any more. Any time these thoughts arise, I will write down how I can better my life, my marriage, God’s kingdom and the WORLD.

There will be no more room for anything else in my head.

Compare

2 thoughts on “Worthy Wednesdays Part 7: Compare

Leave a Reply

