Curried Tofu with Carmelized Onions

Let me start off by saying I love spice shops – especially inexpensive ones. I picked up some Thai style green curry spice blend {contains salt, garlic, coriander, chili, onion, lemon grass, celery seed, carrot, chive, turmeric, black pepper, mustard powder, cumin, fenugreek,  chickpea, ginger & cardamon – do you see why it’s easier to buy?} on a whim, a little unsure of my new purchase.

You see, my husband hates curry. At least he thinks he does. I honestly don’t know of a time he’s actually ever ingested it. So, I’m going to conduct a little experiment, which I will you inform you of the results at a later time, because Husband reads my blogs.

Now, we all know that spices are an excellent source of antioxidants {which not only improve skin, but also fight some major diseases, like cancer}, but curry has some other surprising health perks. Curry contains ingredients that boost immunity, help break down fat cells and while not proven, there have been studies on the relation of curry and the prevention of Alzheimer’s disease.

I decided to try it out on myself first, because I’m not such a curry critic, and I happened to have some tofu I needed to use. Tofu is a testy little protein, and if you are cooking it for the first time, don’t fret if it doesn’t come out so great – it also helps that it’s so cheap. Tofu comes packed in water,  so you have to drain it, cover with a towel, and place a heavy object on top for at least an hour to soak up most of the liquid.

After drying it out, I cubed the tofu {actually “triangled”} and using half of the package {which is 2 servings for a total of 180 calories} I marinaded it in a dish with 2 TBS of the curry, 2 TSP of oil {coconut, truffle, olive oil}, a TSP of lime juice, a TSP of soy sauce and a sprinkle of salt. I left this over night, but just a couple hours will do.

I set my stove on medium-high heat {6-7 notch} with a drizzle of oil, and placed the triangles one by one in the pan. Let it cook for 5 minutes, then flip each piece over. When they are nice and golden and look like they may have the tiniest of crunchiness, they are finished {unless you like more crunchy – I took them off for fear of burning}. I set the tofu aside, sliced 1/2 of an onion, and in a drizzle of oil, carmelized them on medium-high {about 6 1/2 on my stove} for about 8 minutes.

Pile high the onions on top of or next to the curried tofu, and serve with chopsticks and green tea!

Curried Tofu & Carmelized Onions

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

