Birthday Pie

Tuesday was Husbands birthday and we got to celebrate at the butt crack of dawn by going out to vote at 6:30 AM. Last election I voted by mail in ballot, but this year we didn’t receive ours, so we had to go to a polling place. It was actually fun for me! I just kept thinking of how awesome this tradition is that we as Americans have been partaking in since the beginning of our nation’s birth.

Anyways, Jason is not such a big fan of cake {like his dad}, so he asked me to make this pie that he had one Thanksgiving at our closest family friends’ place. Since I haven’t made it since we’ve been married {or at all}, I decided I would, especially because their bridal shower gift to me was the recipe and a pie dish {how sweet that they remembered he loved it!}.

So, I went out to get supplies, but somehow forgot the recipe AND didn’t remember that it needed at least 8 hours to sit. Doi. Now, this recipe will never take the place of the original, but I tried being as inventive as I could and came up with this lighter version of their Grasshopper Pie:

Chocolate Wafer Cookies or Premade Chocolate Pie Crust

1 Large Tub of Light Cool Whip

1 Packet of Sugar Free Vanilla Pudding Powder

Green Food Coloring

1/2 TSP {or more} of Pure Peppermint Extract

Line the pie plate with the wafer cookies, if you are using them. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, mix the entire tub of Cool Whip {best if left out for a little to get soft},  the food coloring {however much you want}, and the peppermint extract. Mix until all ingredients are well incorporated, then add in the pudding powder. Mix until smooth. Spoon the mixture into the crust, and let sit in the fridge for at least an hour.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

