Apple Pie

When fall arrives, so do all sorts of seasonal tasties. I know that a lot of people think of Apple Pie as a summery 4th of July kind of dessert, but it truly reminds me of autumn. Plus, September is the beginning of apple picking season.

Everybody knows the yummiest and perhaps most classic treat that can be made from apples is the ever patriotic dessert of Apple Pie. Growing up, everybody had it alongside some ice cream in the summer, maybe a sliver paired with a small piece of pumpkin pie, or just as a dessert staple year round. Whatever the case, apple pie is as Americana as it gets {aside from waving your red, white & blue out in front of your farm}.

That being said, I don’t bake much. Like a lot of people who don’t do so well with this realm of the culinary world, I’m not so good at making sure measurements are precise. I’m more of “a little here, a little there” type of person {I’m an artist, what can I say – we all know we don’t color inside the lines}, so when my first attempt at crust failed {not to much surprise}, I called in the pros.

Remember the family I was telling you about that made this soup? Well my sisters and I grew up with Lynne being the cook and Chris being the baker when our family would have dinner at their house. And man, Chris sure makes a mighty fine crust. At first I wasn’t sure I should ask, in case it was some sort of secret family formula, passed down from generation to generation – but after Lynne saw that I asked for an easy crust recipe on Facebook, she said, “duh. Do you think we’re weirdos or something?” So, she texted me the recipe, and you know what? It’s just Crisco’s Classic Crust. Wow. I guess I’m the weirdo.

I followed the recipe to the T, except using whole wheat flour – you knew I would do something like that – and it turned out pretty good!

The filling, though, is my own creation.

I started with 4 medium sized apples – any green ones will do – cored, peeled & chopped. Then, I mixed in 2 TBS of lemon juice, the zest of one whole orange {most apple pies call for lemon zest, but I thought orange might be interesting}, 2 TBS of brown sugar, a TSP of cinnamon, and 1/2 TSP of allspice.

I literally let this sit in the fridge, covered, for 2 days. I think sometimes letting flavors meet & then get to know each other for a long time really makes things more flavorful {hence the love for slow cooking}. I poured the filling in the crust {I made a double}, topped it with the other crust, brushed the top with a little melted butter, and baked it in a preheated 400 degree oven for 35-40 minutes.

While not exactly the classic version we all know and love, it was still pretty delicious {and a little more healthy}. Plus, the orange zest added a nice little zing to the whole shebang. Happy fallings!

“L” for Lucero šŸ™‚

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

