Craft Fair Chili

On Tuesday starting at 4:30 AM, we drove 7 hours to Belen, NM to put a halt to the highly anticipated wait of hugging our boys. Then, after some cuddles, lunch and lots & lots of chatting, we embarked on the 7 hour journey home. Upon our arrival, we surprised them with a new home, new rooms, and some Goosebumps {which Jacob has been asking for since last Spring time}. Then after a very busy day yesterday, driving them here & there to see lots of people, and then getting them their first very own library cards, I was pretty exhausted, so I apologize for not posting about that very important topic I usually post about on Wednesdays. I tried writing a post, then looked back at it, and thought, “I’m too tired to write about anything that any makes sense or do anybody any good right now.” So I didn’t. But today, I’m back, and I have a delicious treat for you.

On Saturday, my Mom, our friend Lynne and I went to the Annual Friends Craft Fair  at the Littleton History Museum {which has been going on for 46 years!} and despite the very cold 30 something degree weather, we had a great time, coffee in hand. This is my 3rd or 4th year going to the fair with them, and last year I bought the cutest little sign for Christmas with a red sleigh on it. This year, I was pretty excited about the food vendors that would be there.

I saved my money until I found something I deemed worthy of purchase {plus a little Tinker Bell bow for my friends’ daughter – I couldn’t help myself knowing she was going to be Tink for Halloween}. I bought a bag of pre-made Steamboat Springs Chili mix from Timber Peaks Gourmet – they have been making pre-made soups, snack mixes & dips for over 20 years, so they know what they’re doing.

You can put it in the crock pot or simmer it on the stove, which only takes 30 minutes! I added a jalapeno {because we like it hot}, a TSP of Cayenne and a little extra salt. Oh. My. Gosh. So good. A perfect dinner after you’ve been walking around in near freezing temps for 4 hours and can no longer feel your toes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

