Worthy Wednesdays Part Two: Everybody Does It

I’ve learned something this week: everyone makes mistakes.

Duh, right? I’ve also heard the saying, “Don’t judge me for sinning differently than you.” This statement couldn’t be truer. On this journey so far, one thing I’ve learned is that I can’t beat myself up for making mistakes.

With this insatiable {and down right imposssible} drive to be perfect, I think a lot of us beat ourselves up when we make a bad decision. But have you ever thought that this one lapse in judgement has helped you grow? Or even quite possibly, helped someone else grow? I think the real mistake here is when we make this “wrong” choice, but never learn from it. And these “bad” decisions might lead us to some of the best things in our lives.

For example, if I never quit college, I wouldn’t have met the man of my dreams. And if the man of my dreams never got a girl pregnant when he was 18, we both wouldn’t have two of the largest blessings in our lives. We make these decisions, but then we learn from them. That’s the key.

So this week, I want to encourage you to look at the good you can do, and if you run into a blunder by your own doing, 1. forgive yourself and 2. learn from it.

“You intended to harm me, but God intended it all for good.” Genesis 50:20

Disclaimer: This post is not saying that you have a free pass to do whatever you want, rather to know that you will make mistakes, and to move on. Also, I am by no means a therapist/psychologist/counselor, etc. I am simply venturing to find self worth, and documenting my travels.

One thought on “Worthy Wednesdays Part Two: Everybody Does It

Leave a Reply

