The Raw Regime

Recently, I had been fascinated by the craze that is Raw Foods. The dishes the “raw foodies” create are just pure art and I wanted in on a little of the action, so I decided to try and make my own raw foods dish.

Turns out, it was pretty good! Although, I do have to admit that it wasn’t 100% raw foods because it contained mustard and garbanzo beans, which both have to go through a process that requires heat of over 116 degrees {the official temperature that these foodists consider to be “cooked”}.

The diet is supposed to closely resemble what us humans would have eaten during the primitive era. Also known as the “Caveman Diet”, raw foods does have a lot of health benefits, and possibly the largest one is that no nutrient is lost during the preparation of your raw foods meal. Heating food has been proven to destroy these nutrients that are so vital to our health. Also, there is no calorie/carb/fat counting. You can eat as much as you want, when you want because of the freshness and lack of processing. A couple more perks is that it is better for the earth, and can clear up skin.

I did a bit of research on the subject, and turns out this diet is extremely strict {which we all could have guessed}, and more so than I ever thought. Raw Food dieters cannot eat honey, sugar, soy sauce, nuts {unless they have not been treated, which can be dangerous because many nuts contain a poisonous oil that dissipates when roasted}, soy milk, anything canned and much, much more. If you want beans, you have to sprout them yourself.

In my dish, I added raw fish {sushi grade}, which is a debate amongst raw foodists, because although technically raw, most say any animal products are a no no. However, there is a diet that they say is similar to the raw foods, where you can add raw meats {dairy is still not allowed} called the Paleolithic or Paleo diet.

After learning so much about this lifestyle {which is truly what it is} I commend these people who have this amazing self-discipline. If you can do it, more power to ya! I’m not saying I couldn’t – maybe someday I’ll try it – but for now, I’ll leave it to the experts.

So I suppose, if enough research is done, I didn’t actually create a raw foods dish, but it was my attempt and a pretty darn good one.

I started with a bed of zucchini and carrot strips.

I then added spicy sprouts and sugar snap peas.

Then comes the sushi grade salmon, skinned and deboned.

I tossed over the dish some chickpeas.

I made a dressing out of a little extra virgin olive oil, spicy brown mustard and soy sauce.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

