Simple Decadence

I have been reading back on my previous posts and realizing that the dishes I create aren’t particularly pretty, or “chef”-y. I want to create one of those very small dishes that has a huge presentation, perhaps as though the food were art {oh wait, it is}. So I grabbed just a few ingredients {4, in fact} and started at it.

Portabello mushrooms are the perfect bed to begin stacking other delicious treats on top of, so I started with that as my base, and preheated the oven to 450 degrees.

Then, I was thinking of things that could relatively be the same size and sit nicely on top, like a little “cap”, if you will – a small lid for our new little delicacy. I decided on eggplant and sliced it into 1/2 inch discs and sauteed them on medium-high heat in a teaspoon of olive oil and a tablespoon of water & covered. As soon as one side begins to become tender and partially limp, flip it over {about 5-7 minutes}. It should start to get little dark brown spots on the flesh.

I have been obsessed with egg dishes – not like breakfast eggs, but like the ones you see that are cooked over easy and placed atop a bed of arugula on a quail salad. It just looks so pleasant nestled there in it’s little green nest {until the yoke starts spreading once you impale it with your fork. Violent? Maybe. Passionate? Definitely}.

So I pulled the stem out of the mushroom cap, slathered the inside with basil pesto for some big flavor, and cracked the raw egg inside the cap. I sprinkled the egg with a dash of salt, pulled the eggplant discs out and placed 2 of them on top of the egg.

On a greased dish, I placed my little creations {I made 2}  in the oven and it took but 7-10 minutes for the eggs to get cooked, but still runny and for the mushrooms to be meaty rather than mealy.

This dish was so cute and surprisingly filling. Eating two of these little delights only breaks your calorie bank at about 335 calories, contains 22 grams of protein and your entire daily need of Riboflavin {also known as vitamin B2, which increases energy and contains antioxidant properties}. Pretty and healthy!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Simple Decadence

Leave a Reply

