Husband’s Favorite Sandwich

If any restaurant serves a Monte Cristo, I know that’s what he will be ordering. On Sunday, I don’t know why I never thought to make him one myself, so I did. With a little twist.

Here’s what I did:

2 pieces of bread {I used whole wheat}

A slice or 2 of Cheese {I used extra sharp cheddar}

2 slices of turkey sandwich meat

2 slices of ham sandwich meat

1 TBSP of Boysenberry Preserves {traditionally, Monte Cristo’s are made with raspberry preserves, but that’s what we had, and honestly, there’s not much of a difference}

Now, I made this a healthier versions, so I did not make the bread into french toast pieces. I layered the cheese, then meats on one side of the bread, while letting 1 TSP of butter melt in a TSP of olive oil {so the butter doesn’t burn}. Then, on the other piece of toast, slather on the preserves.

Put the two pieces together, then on medium heat, place into a frying pan, and put the lid on top. After 3 to 4 minutes, flip the sandwich, and when both sides are golden brown and crunchy and the cheese is melted, serve up with a side of more Boysenberry preserves.

Let me tell you, husband likey.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

