Birthday Blues & Potato Wedges

My 23rd birthday was on July 2nd, but it didn’t feel like a birthday at all. I know, I know – the older you get, the less of a big deal it is, but hey – it’s not like I’m 30. Most of my family had left for California the day before, so it just felt… weird.

But thanks to my adoring, and simply perfect spouse, we had a wonderful date night the Saturday before, which we haven’t had in months. We went out for sushi downtown, walked around 16th street, then saw Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter {don’t laugh – it was amazing}, and ended the night with a tall boy beer down at Euclid Hall, a favorite of ours. This place serves their beers in brown paper baggies.

It still didn’t feel like my birthday, though. I felt left out and forgotten. So after much fuss, we finally got our family together {2 weeks later} and had a delightful BBQ. I felt that I could finally end this year’s birthday chapter.

You remember this recipe? That was one of the many delicious treats we had that night. We also had hamburgers, hot dogs, pasta salad, fresh watermelon, and potato wedges. I LOVE burgers, and there’s nothing quite like french fries to pair with a juicy one. I didn’t want to do normal french fries {of course – do I ever want to do anything normal?}, so I made potato wedges. Similar in taste, but just a little different to shake things up. And they couldn’t be easier to make. Actually easier than normal french fries, but they seem much fancier – always a plus, if you ask me.

What you’ll need:

8-10 Medium Russet Potatoes

1/2 TBSP of Olive Oil

Spray Oil

Italian Seasoning

Paprika

Salt

Pepper

Preheat your oven to 375. Cover a 9X13 ish inch pan in foil {trust me, this is a quick-clean-up life saver}, spray the foil with spray oil, and cut the potatoes into 1 inch ish cubes {exactness really isn’t required}. Situate the potatoes in the dish, trying to make an even layer. Drizzle the olive oil over the potatoes, and sprinkle the seasonings to taste. I like a little more Italian seasoning – I used about 3/4 of a TBSP. Give it a quick toss to coat everything, and pop in the oven for about an hour. After the hour, set your oven on broil for 2-3 minutes, or until the potatoes have a nice, golden crust. Serve alongside a yummy burger, and get back to mingling in your backyard!

Enjoy!

Me, Courtnee and the sister Jo

PS This is one of the dresses I was talking about from the Arc!

Statistics:

*Statistics are approximate and can be calculated on www.recipes.sparkpeople.com

  10 Servings
Amount Per Serving
  Calories 170.5
  Total Fat 0.9 g
  Saturated Fat 0.1 g
  Polyunsaturated Fat 0.2 g
  Monounsaturated Fat 0.5 g
  Cholesterol 0.0 mg
  Sodium 245.4 mg
  Potassium 911.4 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 37.3 g
  Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
  Sugars 1.7 g
  Protein 4.3 g
  Vitamin A 0.1 %
  Vitamin B-12 0.0 %
  Vitamin B-6 31.5 %
  Vitamin C 70.0 %
  Vitamin D 0.0 %
  Vitamin E 0.7 %
  Calcium 2.7 %
  Copper 11.6 %
  Folate 8.5 %
  Iron 9.6 %
  Magnesium 12.4 %
  Manganese 16.9 %
  Niacin 11.2 %
  Pantothenic Acid     6.3 %
  Phosphorus     12.2 %
  Riboflavin 4.0 %
  Selenium 0.9 %
  Thiamin 11.4 %
  Zinc 4.1 %
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.
Leave a Reply

