Soup in Summer? Oh, yes I did!

I don’t know why, but every summer, I have this deranged, insatiable need to create a soup.

What?

Yeah, weird, I know. But this is what I’ve come to terms with: I think that the hidden sanity beneath all of this oxymoron-esque foolishness is because it’s easy – you don’t need 3 pans on 3 burners; just one. Contrary to what one might think, it actually keeps the house cooler. Very important when you’re living in an unairconditioned house. Yes. Very important.

This happened to me last summer, too. I repeatedly made chili, adding to the dumbfounded-ness of my then almost-husband. Honestly, I don’t blame him. Who would want to eat hot, spicy chili in 100 degree weather {although some Asian cultures believe that if you’re cold, drink cold beverages, and if you’re hot, hot beverages to balance the body temperature. Could they be right?}?

However, I think this soup I am about to acquaint you with might actually make you think that soup during summer is a sensational idea! Very fresh, clean and light, this soup is, making up for it’s lack in coolness. I was inspired to make this soup by my parents’ best friends who, every year, as far back as I can remember, they had us over for dinner on New Years Day and we had this Portuguese soup. I don’t know their exact recipe, but I tried my hand at it…

What you’ll need:

14 oz or 1 Package of Polska Kielbasa

1 Head of Kale {shall we go into the health benefits of this one? It would be a long conversation}

1 – 15 oz Can of Cannellini Beans, drained { they are really the same as great northerns, so if you have those, use them – however, great northerns do have less impressive nutritional values. Trust me – I studied the two cans in the grocery store aisle for 5 minutes, while people stared}.

1 – 15 oz Can of Kidney Beans

1 – 10 oz Can of Medium Heat Rotel Diced Tomatoes {can you tell I like this stuff?}

1/2 of a Red Onion, diced

1 C of Mushrooms, quartered, stems cut off

12 C of Water

S&P to taste

Put those 12 cups of water plus that can of Rotel {do not drain}  in a very large, deep pot on High, to get it boiling. While you’re waiting, chop that Kale coarsely, and add to the water. Slice up those Kielbasa links, and also add.

Drain & rinse well, both the cans of beans. Toss those in the pan, after the kale has begun wilting, along with the quartered mushrooms and diced onions. Once everything has mingled nicely, liberally S&P to taste {trust when I say liberally – there is, after all, 12 cups of water in there}. Close that sucker up with a lid.

Bring the heat to a simmer for an hour to an hour and a half.

You remember this recipe from last week? Here’s where it comes in handy with that toast. Make the toast according to instructions, dip in this ambrosial soup, and let your taste buds cheer. And they won’t even know how good it is for you. Sometimes I feel like my taste buds are kids – as soon as they know it’s healthy, they don’t want anymore! Okay, that’s a lie. But it’s that good! Try to trick your tongue!

Shhhh! It’s our secret ;).

Enjoy!

*Statistics are approximate and can be calculated on www.recipes.sparkpeople.com

  8 Servings
Amount Per Serving
  Calories 264.2
  Total Fat 14.4 g
  Saturated Fat 5.0 g
  Polyunsaturated Fat 1.8 g
  Monounsaturated Fat 6.5 g
  Cholesterol 33.2 mg
  Sodium 1,524.3 mg
  Potassium 486.5 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
  Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
  Sugars 1.6 g
  Protein 13.7 g
  Vitamin A 221.4 %
  Vitamin B-12 13.4 %
  Vitamin B-6 11.6 %
  Vitamin C 57.6 %
  Vitamin D 1.7 %
  Vitamin E 4.2 %
  Calcium 12.5 %
  Copper 15.5 %
  Folate 10.1 %
  Iron 16.2 %
  Magnesium 10.5 %
  Manganese 25.6 %
  Niacin 12.0 %
  Pantothenic Acid     6.6 %
  Phosphorus     15.2 %
  Riboflavin 14.4 %
  Selenium 15.6 %
  Thiamin 14.5 %
  Zinc 10.2 %
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.
One thought on “Soup in Summer? Oh, yes I did!

Leave a Reply

