Here, Fishy Fishy!

As you may have read in my earlier entry, I made a delicious side-dish of roasted tomatoes to accompany wild rice and Salmon. Well, you’d be crazy if you thought I’d leave out the recipe for this amazing fish!

After fishing all weekend, I literally had to have some of the fresh stuff, so I purchased some on our way home from our camping trip {next best thing, right?}.

As soon as I got home, I knew I wanted it to marinade for as long as possible, so this is what I did:

I broke open the poor sucker and drizzled some olive oil over the top of him. Then, to pair perfectly with the tomatoes {too many varying spices make things messy rather than put together}, I kept the main herbs and seasonings the same – I smeared him with about a TBSP of minced garlic, followed by about a half TBSP of minced basil, in the same conduct. S&P to taste, a little spritz with some lime juice, and then, here’s the secret: I cut little bits of butter and carefully placed them over the top, making sure the placement was as even as could be.

Depending on how much time you have, leave it in the fridge for a good bit. Mine was in there 2 hours.

Pop it in a 400 degree preheated oven for 15-18 minutes, and… Voila!

Let me tell you, this little secret ingredient sure made a difference. Succulent seems an appropriate word. I am slowly but surely coming to terms with the fact that foods with less than 5 ingredients are the best for your body. Duh, right? I used to give into “light” or “diet” so easily {although, let’s face it – I will never give up my diet coke}, but real, wholesome butter {or “real” any other food} is the way to go. Obviously. No more of that “Light Balance” crap. God made certain things for our bodies – in moderation. Yes, that beautiful word that so many of us hate to hear. Let’s stop engorging ourselves, and start enjoying ourselves!

Enjoy!

*Statistics are approximate and can be calculated on www.recipes.sparkpeople.com

 6 Servings
Amount Per Serving
  Calories 267.2
  Total Fat 10.9 g
  Saturated Fat 2.6 g
  Polyunsaturated Fat 2.9 g
  Monounsaturated Fat 4.0 g
  Cholesterol 106.4 mg
  Sodium 906.0 mg
  Potassium 642.4 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 1.2 g
  Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
  Sugars 0.0 g
  Protein 38.9 g
  Vitamin A 5.6 %
  Vitamin B-12 87.2 %
  Vitamin B-6 19.3 %
  Vitamin C 1.6 %
  Vitamin D 0.0 %
  Vitamin E 1.6 %
  Calcium 3.4 %
  Copper 8.2 %
  Folate 1.9 %
  Iron 9.3 %
  Magnesium 12.8 %
  Manganese 4.9 %
  Niacin 64.5 %
  Pantothenic Acid     13.3 %
  Phosphorus     45.1 %
  Riboflavin 6.8 %
  Selenium 124.1 %
  Thiamin 20.2 %
  Zinc 7.4 %
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.
3 thoughts on “Here, Fishy Fishy!

Leave a Reply

