Red Rocks and Red Wine

I have been challenging myself to make exercise more of a priority in my life – some say that a good body is %70 made in the kitchen, and %30 made in the gym. I would agree, and that was how I justified to myself that working out really wasn’t that significant, until I was talking with my sister about the subject and she said, “Well why wouldn’t you want to be %100?” Good point. It’s not just about your health and body now, but also the benefits for your later years. I don’t want to be that grandma that can’t chase her grand-kids in her garden because she needs a walker.

So, last Thursday, when my Mom called me up and asked me if I wanted to join her and a friend in running the Red Rocks stairs, I started making up all kinds of excuses – I didn’t have time, I had somewhere to be, I would get stinky… etc.

STOP

I told myself to shut up, and said, “Sure, see you in a half hour.”

When we got there, it turned out to be the MOST gorgeous day, and even though there was a daunting task ahead of me {again, I’m really not a runner}, I was excited to complete the mission that lie ahead. I don’t know what it is, but I like a challenge, and there were plenty of people there whom (unbeknownst to them) I did just that. We started our run, and I would see someone doing the same thing and think to myself, “I could beat them,” and I would try my best to do just that. When I got to the bottom, I felt this cataclysmic sense of excitement and gratification, and I was actually PROUD of myself – a feeling that is fairly foreign to me.

Image

Yep, I definitely had a high, and this high is addictive – so much so, that bright and early on Saturday, I drug the hubs out there {kicking and screaming} and did it again.

But on a different note, we went to the Denver First Friday Art Walk (which Husband has never been to}, and picked up a bottle of wine to enjoy after. My Dad got me this bottle before for our engagement party, and let me tell you – it tickled me. It’s a red blend called Rebel Red by Middle Sisters Wine – I’d say fairly fitting to my personality. I definitely recommend you try it. Especially if you’re feeling adventurous.

Leave a Reply

